Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 5, 2015
Genres: Fairy Tales, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Sarah J. Maas impressed me with Throne of Glass. I knew then that I would want to read anything she wrote, because fantasy swoons. What I didn’t realize immediately was how damn impressive all of her books would be. With every book, she’s becoming a stronger writer, plotter, and world builder. Every time I start a new Maas book, I think I’m prepared for how good it’s going to be and every time I find that I’ve underestimated Maas’ talent. Even with the hype surrounding her every title, they’re always better than what I was expecting. I am I amaased at the perfection of A Court of Thorns and Roses.

The blurb doesn’t lie. A Court of Thorns and Roses is very much a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, so long as you’re not thinking of the Disney version. In that version, the daughter trades her life to the beast to save that of her loving father. In A Court of Thorns and Roses and the original tale, the daughter’s life is bartered with the Beast to protect the well-being of the greedy father and his other daughters. Since she was young, Feyre has made sure that the family had enough to eat, barely, by hunting and managing what money they have. Her father lost the family’s estate in a risky investment gone wrong and was subsequently crippled in a beating by angry investors. Though he could still work if he leaned upon a cane, he refuses to do so, his pride too great. Feyre’s sisters refuse to help and are eager to spend what little money Feyre can earn on fripperies.

Out hunting, Feyre finds a stag. Then, though, she notices a large wolf, but surely not a faerie, zeroing on the same target. Since she cannot let the stag go or her family will go hungry, she dares to try for both stag and wolf, miraculously succeeding. That night, a beast comes, demanding Feyre’s life in exchange for that of the faerie she murdered. She can either come with the beast and live in the lands of the fae or she can die. Because Feyre has a strong desire to keep living, no matter how, she goes with him, despite her fear and her hatred.

What follows is an amazing character arc, in which Feyre at first feels that everything she sees confirms that the fae have been cruel to humans. They have so much and humans so little. Eventually, though, she begins to look deeper and to realize the blight underneath the lush surroundings. She comes slowly to appreciate her captors and to admire them. What really made it work for me was that, until her time with her supposed enemy, she never experienced happiness, never laughed. Also, one thing I love is that Feyre is illiterate. Much as I love a bookish heroine, I find the fact that Feyre can’t read refreshing and it certainly fits with her circumstances.

Like Feyre, I was desperate to know more about what was happening in the faerie kingdoms. Even though I should have seen certain plot points coming, I really didn’t, because I was held so much in sway by the novel and the characters. The character arcs in this book are boss. View Spoiler »

And oh the ship. It’s some masterful hate to love. That said, as much as I ship the ship, I’m pretty much open to any possible ship. Would an OT3 or 4 be too much to ask? There’s some serious reverse harem action happening here and I loooove it as much as I almost always do love reverse harems. Plus, Sarah writes chemistry so intense that I’m swooning before anything overtly romantic has even happened. In this book, there’s even non-fade-to-black sex. It’s dark and sexy and I want more please.

The ending of A Court of Thorns and Roses is so good. Aside from the riddle, I had little idea how anything would play out. Even more, I have absolutely no clue what will happen next in this series. More plot lines resolved than I was expecting and so I really cannot imagine what will happen in book two. One thing I do know? Sarah will make sure it’s something incredibly awesome and heart-rending and swoony. Bring it on.

Favorite Quote:

“He also said that you like being brushed, and if I’m a clever girl, I might train you with treats.”

Tl;dr – Review in a GIFfy:

 gif beauty and the beast fangirling

4 responses to “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas”

  1. Kristin says:

    Great review. I LOVED this book and I was a tiny bit worried I wouldn’t because of all the hype over it the moment the cover and synopsis hit the blogosphere. I cannot wait to read the next book.
    Kristin recently posted…Excerpt: A Trip Down Reality Lane by Ian Thomas MaloneMy Profile

  2. Ahhh! I’m starting this tonight! (Or today at work if I can be sneaky on my iPad mwahaha). I was a bit nervous of the hype as well even though I love the Throne of Glass series and how much it has grown over each book. This review makes me so excited for ACOTAR. Good character arcs are my favorite and you knoooow I LOVE hate to love!!! Hooray! Thanks for the stellar review and gif.

  3. Lyn Kaye says:

    This is the stuff that makes for great HBO shows down the line! Your gif at the end – yes yes yes so much. I gave this book 5 stars, because DAMN.
    Lyn Kaye recently posted…Challenge: Burn, Rewrite or Reread?My Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge