Review: Forever Princess by Meg Cabot

Review: Forever Princess by Meg Cabot

Forever Princess by Meg Cabot
Series: The Princess Diaries #10
Published by HarperTeen on December 29, 2009
Pages: 383
Genres: Contemporary, Humor, Romance
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
four-half-stars

AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudibleGoodreads
What's a Princess to do?

It's Mia's senior year, and things seem great. She aced her senior project, got accepted to her dream college(s), and has her eighteenth birthday gala coming up . . . not to mention prom, graduation, and Genovia's first-ever elections. What's not to love about her life? Well . . . everyone adores her dreamy boyfriend, J.P., but Mia is not sure he's the one. Her first love, Michael, is back from Japan . . . and back in her life. That senior project? It's a romance novel she secretly wrote, and no one wants to publish it. And her father is losing in the Genovian polls--to Mia's loathsome cousin Rene!

With not just Genovia's but her own future hanging in the balance, Mia's got some choices to make. And what she decides might determine not just the next four years but . . . forever!

One of my bookish quirks has always been my hesitance to read a series out of order, even if they’re companions or the order really doesn’t matter (as in Discworld). In this one instance, I’ve intentionally and thoughtfully set this aside, and, yes, it does bug me a bit and I do have some misgivings. With Royal Wedding next on my TBR, the time had come to finish The Princess Diaries series, which I’d abandoned many years ago after book seven. I loathed the fact that Mia hadn’t grown or changed hardly at all in seven books, and I was done. Gillian (Writer of Wrongs) told me that 8 and 9 were not going to be any more enjoyable to me, with the ship all in tatters, so I decided to skip to Forever Princess. Part of me will always hate that I skipped those two books, but I’m very glad I decided to leap back into the series, and Forever Princess got back to what I loved about The Princess Diaries: Michael Moscovitz.

 photo gif royally flushed michael moscovitz princess diaries_zpskn4sjglk.gif

(more…)

Cover Snark (152): The Mystery of Snark Places

CoverSnarkChristina2

Welcome to Cover Snark, where the people are snarky and the covers quiver in fear. Since I don’t write many snarky book reviews here on A Reader of Fictions, Cover Snark is my outlet. If you click on the title of the book, where possible, I’ve linked to Goodreads. Clicking on the cover itself will show you the cover in a larger size, in most cases. Feel free to love covers I hate and vice versa. Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Shiny and New:

1. Link (The Shadow of Light #1) – Summer Wier
Link (The Shadow of Light #1) - Summer Wier
Thoughts: What appears to be a bare lightbulb hanging from the top of the cover adds an element of torture. It’s also highly reminiscent of Seeker.

(more…)

June 2015: Month in Review

What I’ve Been Up To:

Blogging:

You guys may or may not have noticed, but I haven’t been blogging as much. That’s because I’ve been busy personally, with work, and just haven’t had as much time to devote to blogging. I’m officially announcing that I will be posting five times a week. I may, occasionally, post something on the weekend if I feel like it, but, for the most part, don’t expect new content on Saturday or Sunday. This has been an official announcement. *nods*

Shenanigans:
Let’s see. I had a super exciting (not) business trip to Oklahoma. It went pretty well and was mega stressful. I barely got any reading done for a couple of weeks because there was so much to do for that. Otherwise, I went on a bit of a shopping spree. Sorry not sorry. I also worked on rearranging my bookshelves, but that’s not quite finished.

Music:

June mix!

Artists I was especially into in June: American Authors, Echosmith, Halsey, Of Monsters and Men (DUH), Sheppard

(more…)

Review: Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson
Series: Rebel Mechanics #1
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) on July 14, 2015
Pages: 320
Genres: Alternate History, Fantasy, Historical, Romance, Steampunk
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
four-half-stars

AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudibleGoodreads
A sixteen-year-old governess becomes a spy in this alternative U.S. history where the British control with magic and the colonists rebel by inventing.

It’s 1888, and sixteen-year-old Verity Newton lands a job in New York as a governess to a wealthy leading family—but she quickly learns that the family has big secrets. Magisters have always ruled the colonies, but now an underground society of mechanics and engineers are developing non-magical sources of power via steam engines that they hope will help them gain freedom from British rule. The family Verity works for is magister—but it seems like the children's young guardian uncle is sympathetic to the rebel cause. As Verity falls for a charming rebel inventor and agrees to become a spy, she also becomes more and more enmeshed in the magister family’s life. She soon realizes she’s uniquely positioned to advance the cause—but to do so, she’ll have to reveal her own dangerous secret.

Before I talk about Rebel Mechanics and while I have you here reading my review, I want to talk about Shanna Swendson’s Enchanted, Inc. series. Back when I was in high school, I found Enchanted, Inc. at the library. I was into so-called chick-lit at the time, and I grabbed it. Of all the novels I found randomly perusing the library shelves, that one was my favorite. I’ve only read the first four books in the series, not having managed to find time to read the self-published books that came several years later. They’re shippy, fun, and clever. I hoped that Rebel Mechanics would be similar to Enchanted, Inc. in that respect, and it so is.

(more…)

Review: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George
Series: Silver in the Blood #1
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on July 7, 2015
Pages: 358
Genres: Historical, Paranormal, Romance
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
two-stars

AmazonThe Book DepositoryGoodreads
A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

When I first started Silver in the Blood, I was so excited. The sassy Dacia, with a boy in every place she goes, charmed me. If Silver in the Blood had remained a novel of gowns and flirting, I probably would have liked it. YA could use more fluffy historical romance in my opinion. Then again, I also think it could use a lot of good paranormal novels; ufortunately, the paranormal elements left me cold.

(more…)