What I’m Loving This Week: Foolish Hearts, Cherry, and No Reading Challenge

Hello, friends! It hasn’t been a particularly eventful week, largely spent relaxing before a trip over this coming weekend. Gotta power up that socialization battery! More on that next week, though.

No updates on what I’m watching, because I’m still working my way through all of Drag Race, but, in case anyone else is a fan, let me know, so I can rant about All Stars seasons 3 and 4? I HAVE FEELINGS, PEOPLE. Also, Thorgy Thor is the absolute worst.

From January 6-12, I read 8 books. It’s nice that I haven’t been pushing myself at all, but I’m still keeping a swift reading pace going. That said, it wasn’t a week full of books I loved, which is a bit disappointing, but here’s the short list of things I love this week.

Foolish Hearts – Emma Mills

Reread. Original review.

Of the Emma Mills thus far (the first four), Foolish Hearts is hands down my absolute favorite. Claudia’s awkward and uncomfortable in her own skin and deeply unable to believe that anyone could really care for her. Even though I’m not sure how similar we actually are, because she’s really popular really, she’s so relatable. Gideon Prewitt’s also just the cutest. The ship is for reallllllllll. Everyone is so well-developed and quirky and unique, and I could not love this book more (unless there was more couple cuteness at the end).

Check it out on Goodreads
Buy it on Amazon
Buy it on Book Depository
Buy it on IndieBound

Cherry – Lindsey Rosin

Reread. Original review.

Forgive the terrible cover. Cherry is an examination of teen sexuality, honest and open, discussing, among other things: masturbation, f/f sex, and orgasm. It’s a sex-positive novel with an aim to educate while entertaining, and I think it does that well and with zero shame. This is a perfect readalike for Anatomy of a Boyfriend or Jack of Hearts, which is from an m/m perspective.

Check it out on Goodreads
Buy it on Amazon
Buy it on Book Depository
Buy it on IndieBound

Now, to be clear, I did make a Goodreads challenge, exhibited to the left. 1) I can’t help it, because, if you don’t, it keeps asking, so it’s just easier to do it. And 2) I actually do like being able to see it.

However, while a high challenge for many, I spend most of my time reading, so this is an easily achievable, no pressure goal for me. (If you’re curious what my secret is, I have no kids and no other hobbies. It’s great.)

Fulfilling my end-of-year goal of 500 was amazing, but I’m loving starting fresh with no new aim in mind, being able to not read if I don’t feel like it. I’m sure I’ll be back in challenge mode at the end of the year, but I enjoy the start-of-year chill so much.

What have you been loving this week?

What I’m Loving This Week: Emma Mills, Drag Race, and More

*waves shyly*

It is entirely possible I just took an unplanned hiatus from blogging for *checks calendar* almost four months. Oops?

(more…)

We Are the Perfect Girl by Ariel Kaplan

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

We Are the Perfect Girl by Ariel KaplanWe Are the Perfect Girl by Ariel Kaplan
Length: 10 hrs, 46 mins
Published by Listening Library on May 21, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads

She’s the beauty, I’m the bold one–together, we are the perfect girl…

Aphra Brown is bold and outgoing. Her best friend, Bethany, is achingly beautiful. Individually, they could both do a little better in the self-esteem department, but together? Together, they have what it takes to win over Greg D’Agostino, a proverbial “ten,” who happens to be fluent in six languages–seven if you count the language of smoldering gazes . . .

What begins as an honest mistake turns into an elaborate deception, wherein Bethany goes on dates with Greg while Aphra coaches her on what to say, and texts him in the guise of Bethany, trying and failing, all the while, to tamp down her own hopeless crush. It’s only a matter of time before things come crashing down. The question is: What will happen when Greg finds out? And can Aphra and Bethany’s friendship survive the fallout?

From the author of We Regret to Inform You comes a witty, warm-hearted exploration of love in all its forms, and a cris-de-coeur for self-acceptance when the pressure to be perfect is overwhelming.

Somehow I hadn’t heard pretty much anything about this book, but I did end somehow end up with both an egalley and a review audiobook. Still, I had the feeling this would be good because Dahlia loved it, and she knows what’s up. We Are the Perfect Girl is a book that builds from a beginning where you think you know what’s going to happen, which turns out to be right and wrong in the best ways. It’s a book I haven’t stopped thinking about since I finished it a week ago, which, let me tell you, is notable.

(more…)

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda HolmesEvvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes
Published by Random House Audio on June 25, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads

In a small town in Maine, recently widowed Eveleth "Evvie" Drake rarely leaves her house. Everyone in town, including her best friend, Andy, thinks grief keeps her locked inside, and she doesn't correct them. In New York, Dean Tenney, former major-league pitcher and Andy's childhood friend, is struggling with a case of the "yips": he can't throw straight anymore, and he can't figure out why. An invitation from Andy to stay in Maine for a few months seems like the perfect chance to hit the reset button.

When Dean moves into an apartment at the back of Evvie's house, the two make a deal: Dean won't ask about Evvie's late husband, and Evvie won't ask about Dean's baseball career. Rules, though, have a funny way of being broken--and what starts as an unexpected friendship soon turns into something more. But before they can find out what might lie ahead, they'll have to wrestle a few demons: the bonds they've broken, the plans they've changed, and the secrets they've kept. They'll need a lot of help, but in life, as in baseball, there's always a chance--right up until the last out.

TBH I’m not a big NPR listener, much to the disappointment of my bestie and my boyfriend. I’ve just always been more of a fiction person than a nonfiction person, so unless it’s a quiz show, I’d rather listen to music or an audiobook in the car. My boyfriend could tell you that one of my flaws is changing the radio in his car from NPR to music. All that to say that Linda Holmes being an NPR…person (correspondent? DJ? reporter? host? I do not know this terminology) wasn’t a big draw. Actually, it made me nervous that Evvie Drake Starts Over would be more literary fiction than contemporary romance. But omg friends, this book is an amazing contemporary with a great romance. The hype is real and earned.

(more…)

I’ve Got You Covered (12)

I’ve Got You Covered has replaced Cover Snark. It’s less frequent and all positive. In this feature, I’m sharing all my favorite new book covers. Hope you find some shiny new reads! Tell me your favorites in the comments.

Middle Grade

1. Ghost Squad – Claribel A. Ortega

Suspicious chunker cat is everthing.

(more…)