Size Doesn’t Matter (192): Ready Set Rogue; Refuge for Masterminds

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Size Doesn’t Matter (192): Ready Set Rogue; Refuge for MastermindsReady Set Rogue by Manda Collins
Series: Studies in Scandal #1
Published by St. Martin's Press on January 3, 2017
Genres: Historical, Romance, Mystery
Pages: 310
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads
three-half-stars

WHO WILL WRITE THE BOOK OF LOVE?

When scholarly Miss Ivy Wareham receives word that she’s one of four young ladies who have inherited Lady Celeste Beauchamp’s estate with a magnificent private library, she packs her trunks straightaway. Unfortunately, Lady Celeste’s nephew, the rakish Quill Beauchamp, Marquess of Kerr, is determined to interrupt her studies one way or another...

Bequeathing Beauchamp House to four bluestockings—no matter how lovely they are to look at—is a travesty, and Quill simply won’t have it. But Lady Celeste’s death is not quite as straightforward as it first seemed…and if Quill hopes to solve the mystery behind her demise, he’ll need Ivy’s help. Along the way, he is surprised to learn that bookish Ivy stirs a passion and longing that he has never known. This rogue believes he’s finally met his match—but can Quill convince clever, skeptical Ivy that his love is no fiction?

It’s funny when you look on Goodreads for a book and see that other people were not huge fans, and you’re just like WHATEVA WHATEVA IT’S GREAT. Ready Set Rogue delighted me from beginning to end; it’s a silly, sexy, tropetastic romp, and I’m really into this series’ concept.

(more…)

Size Doesn’t Matter (191): What to Say Next; Same Difference

I received this book for free from ALA in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Size Doesn’t Matter (191): What to Say Next; Same DifferenceWhat to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum
Published by Delacorte BFYR on July 11, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 292
Format: ARC
Source: ALA
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads
four-stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things was really cute and fun, but What to Say Next has thoroughly convinced me of what a talent she is. After this book, it’s a guarantee I’ll be trying whatever she writes subsequently.

(more…)

Review: The Empty Grave by Jonathan Stroud

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Empty Grave by Jonathan StroudThe Empty Grave by Jonathan Stroud
Narrator: Emily Bevan
Length: 12 hrs, 41 mins
Series: Lockwood & Co. #5
Published by Listening Library on September 12, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Mystery, Horror
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads
four-half-stars

After the dramatic events of The Creeping Shadow, the Lockwood team (plus Quill Kipps) deserve some well-earned rest.

So naturally they break into the Fittes Mausoleum, on a perilous mission to discover the truth about London's top ghost-hunting agency, and its sinister leader.

What they discover will change everything.

But there's little time to ponder. A near-miss at a haunted fairground is only the start - as the Fittes agency closes in on the team, an epic struggle commences.

With the help of some unexpected, and rather ghostly, allies, Lockwood & Co must battle their greatest enemy yet, as they move ever closer to the moment when the earth-shattering secret of 'the problem' will finally be revealed.

Jonathan Stroud once again delivers a rousing adventure full of danger, laughs, twists, and frights. The revelations will send readers back to Book 1 to start the series all over again.

The Lockwood and Co. series has been one of my favorites since I began it several years ago with The Screaming Staircase. In preparation for the conclusion, I listened to all four books again, because I wanted to make sure that I had the best possible experience with The Empty Grave. Sure, it took a long time, but I regret not a thing. Lockwood and Co. is one of the strongest series, across five books, that I’ve read, and The Empty Grave is a stunning conclusion.

(more…)

Review: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

Review: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. PearsonThe Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson
Series: The Remnant Chronicles #3
Published by Henry Holt BFYR on August 2, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 679
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Lia has survived Venda—but so has a great evil bent on the destruction of Morrighan. And only Lia can stop it.

With war on the horizon, Lia has no choice but to assume her role as First Daughter, as soldier—as leader. While she struggles to reach Morrighan and warn them, she finds herself at cross-purposes with Rafe and suspicious of Kaden, who has hunted her down.

In this conclusion to the Remnant Chronicles trilogy, traitors must be rooted out, sacrifices must be made, and impossible odds must be overcome as the future of every kingdom hangs in the balance.

Before reading the final book in the series (and the one with the best cover), I reread the first two books, since it had been a while, and I was absolutely not going to get everything out of it. I mean, on my reread of The Kiss of Deception, I actually couldn’t totally remember which was prince and which was assassin, so it was kind of necessary. The Beauty of Darkness, and the series as a whole, is a pretty good fantasy, once it gets past the gimmicky opening, but it never quite hits greatness.

(more…)

Size Doesn’t Matter (190): Nyxia; The Shattered Warrior

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Size Doesn’t Matter (190): Nyxia; The Shattered WarriorNyxia by Scott Reintgen
Narrator: Sullivan Jones, Dominic Hoffman
Length: 10 hrs, 7 mins
Series: The Nyxia Triad #1
Published by Listening Library on September 12, 2017
Genres: Science Fiction, Adventure
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads
four-stars

Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.

Forever.

Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden—a planet that Babel has kept hidden—where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.

But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.

Somehow Nyxia managed to fly almost entirely under my radar. I saw the cover because Cover Snark, but I’m really hesitant to pick up book authored by men, so I really hadn’t looked at it too closely. When the audiobook showed up in the PRH email, though, I realized the MC was a POC so I decided to give it a shot. Nyxia‘s mega diverse (something sci fi isn’t always great about—or any genre really) with badass female characters and an exciting plot.

(more…)