Series Review: Ashbury/Brookfield by Jaclyn Moriarty

Series Review: Ashbury/Brookfield by Jaclyn MoriartyFeeling Sorry for Celia by Jaclyn Moriarty
Series: Ashbury/Brookfield #1
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on March 8, 2001
Genres: Contemporary, Humor, Romance
Pages: 276
Source: Library
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads
three-stars

Life is pretty complicated for Elizabeth Clarry. Her best friend Celia keeps disappearing, her absent father suddenly reappears, and her communication with her mother consists entirely of wacky notes left on the fridge. On top of everything else, because her English teacher wants to rekindle the "Joy of the Envelope," a Complete and Utter Stranger knows more about Elizabeth than anyone else.

But Elizabeth is on the verge of some major changes. She may lose her best friend, find a wonderful new friend, kiss the sexiest guy alive, and run in a marathon.
So much can happen in the time it takes to write a letter...

A #1 bestseller in Australia, this fabulous debut is a funny, touching, revealing story written entirely in the form of letters, messages, postcards—and bizarre missives from imaginary organizations like The Cold Hard Truth Association.

Feeling Sorry for Celia captures, with rare acuity, female friendship and the bonding and parting that occurs as we grow. Jaclyn Moriarty's hilariously candid novel shows that the roller coaster ride of being a teenager is every bit as fun as we remember—and every bit as harrowing.

For a few years now, Gillian has encouraged me to read The Year of Secret Assignments, and, being me, I had to start with Feeling Sorry for Celia. Though very much not my typical read and one I wouldn’t expect to enjoy as much as I did, Feeling Sorry for Celia is silly and fun in just the right tongue-in-cheek way.

(more…)

Size Doesn’t Matter (169): Romancing the Throne; Scrappy Little Nobody; Lost Gods

I received this book for free from ALA in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Size Doesn’t Matter (169): Romancing the Throne; Scrappy Little Nobody; Lost GodsRomancing the Throne by Nadine Jolie Courtney
Published by Katherine Tegen on May 30, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: ALA
AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads
one-half-stars

Scandal, secrets, and heartbreak abound in this juicy, modern girl-meets-prince story—perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer E. Smith. "Maybe sisters aren’t supposed to fall for the same guy, but who can mess with chemistry? A divine romantic comedy" (Brightly.com).

For the first time ever, the Weston sisters are at the same boarding school. After an administration scandal at Libby’s all-girls school threatens her chances at a top university, she decides to join Charlotte at posh and picturesque Sussex Park. Social-climbing Charlotte considers it her sisterly duty to bring Libby into her circle: Britain’s young elites, glamorous teens who vacation in Hong Kong and the South of France and are just as comfortable at a polo match as they are at a party.

It’s a social circle that just so happens to include handsome seventeen-year-old Prince Edward, heir to Britain’s throne.

If there are any rules of sisterhood, “Don’t fall for the same guy” should be one of them. But sometimes chemistry—even love—grows where you least expect it. In the end, there may be a price to pay for romancing the throne...and more than one path to happily ever after.

Romancing the Throne sounded like just the sort of melodrama love triangle that I might actually enjoy. Instead, it proved to be frustrating, ill-written, and occasionally infuriating. If you were hoping Romancing the Throne would be a cute, shippy book, you’re going to be disappointed.

(more…)

Cover Snark (235): Love, Life, and the Snark

Welcome to Cover Snark, where the people are snarky and the covers quiver in fear. Since I don’t write many snarky book reviews here on A Reader of Fictions, Cover Snark is my outlet. If you click on the title of the book, where possible, I’ve linked to Goodreads. Clicking on the cover itself will show you the cover in a larger size, in most cases. Feel free to love covers I hate and vice versa. Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Please note that you should by no means contact the author if you do not like their cover; they likely have ZERO control. Feel free to express opinions of the covers in the comments, but please do not @ an author on Twitter because of anything you’ve seen here.

Shiny and New:

1. Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2) – Lexa Hillyer

Thoughts: OMG. This is adorable. THAT FOXXXXX.

(more…)

Series Review: The Lyndon Sisters by Julia Quinn

Series Review: The Lyndon Sisters by Julia QuinnEverything and the Moon by Julia Quinn
Series: The Lyndon Sisters #1
Published by Avon on August 26, 2003
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Seven years ago she broke his heart...

When Robert Kemble stumbles across Victoria Lyndon in hedgerow maze, he can't believe his eyes. The girl who'd torn him in two, who let him plan on elopement and then left him standing by the side of the road, was suddenly within arm's reach, and even though his fury still knew no bounds, she was impossible to resist...

Seven years ago he left her all but ruined...

Victoria's father had told her an earl would never marry a vicar's daughter, and he was right. Robert had promised her marriage, then danced off to London while she suffered the shame of a foiled elopement. But even though Victoria doesn't particularly enjoy her new life as a governess, when Robert offers her a job of a different sort—his mistress—she refuses, unable to sacrifice her honor, even for him.

But Robert won't take no for an answer, and he vows to make her his, through any means possible. Can these star-crossed lovers learn to trust again? And is love really sweeter the second time around?

Julia Quinn’s backlist continues to be pretty good overall, though admittedly Everything and the Moon isn’t a high point. There are some good moments, but the ship in this one is plagued by some annoying stereotypical romance tropes.

(more…)

Size Doesn’t Matter (168): At Your Service; Now I Rise

Size Doesn’t Matter (168): At Your Service; Now I RiseAt Your Service by Jen Malone
Published by Aladdin on August 26, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 273
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads

Chloe loves working as a junior concierge at an exclusive NYC hotel—but when three royal kids come to stay, her hospitality is put to the ultimate test!

Chloe Turner has pretty much the BEST life. She gets to live in the super fancy Hotel St. Michele. New York City is her hometown. And her dad, Mitchell Turner, concierge extraordinaire, is teaching her all the secrets of the business so she can follow in his footsteps. After helping him out with a particularly difficult kid client, Chloe is appointed the official junior concierge, tending to the hotel’s smallest, though sometimes most demanding, guests.

Her new position comes with tons of perks like cupcake parties, backstage passes to concerts, and even private fittings with the hippest clothing designers. But Chloe hasn’t faced her toughest challenge yet. When three young royals (including a real-life PRINCE!) come to stay, Chloe’s determined to prove once and for all just how good she is at her job. Except the trip is a total disaster—especially when the youngest royal disappears. Now it’s up to Chloe to save the day. Can she find the missing princess before it becomes international news?

Jen Malone has pleased me to the point of epic flailing with her YA contemporary novels (Wanderlost and Map to the Stars), so I decided the time had come to give her middle grade backlist a shot. So far so good because At Your Service is cute, funny, fluffy, and has a baby middle grade ship to boot.

(more…)