Trouble Never Sleeps by Stephanie Tromly

Trouble Never Sleeps by Stephanie TromlyTrouble Never Sleeps by Stephanie Tromly
Series: Trouble #3
Published by Kathy Dawson on April 2, 2019
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
AmazonAudible
Goodreads

Happily Ever After gets a serious makeover in this swoony, non-stop, thrill-ride of a conclusion to the Trouble Is a Friend of Mine trilogy

Digby and Zoe have been skirting around each other for so long that you might think they'd lose their magic if they ever actually hooked up. But never fear--there's all the acerbic wit, steamy chemistry, and sarcastic banter you could possibly hope for.

Now that Digby's back in town with a new lead, he's plunged Zoe (and their Scooby Gang of wealthy frenemy Sloane, nerd-tastic genius Felix, and aw-shucks-handsome Henry) into the deep end on the hunt for his kidnapped sister. Sure, it could require breaking into a government research facility (not to mention a little light treason), and yes, Zoe could be jeopardizing her Ivy League future. But dating Digby was never going to be short on danger, and it's worth it if it helps him get the closure he so desperately needs. The schemes might be over-the-top but this Breakfast Club cast is irresistibly real as they cope with regular high school stuff from social media shaming to dating your best friend, all with a twist no one will see coming.

Rereading this series was such a joy. I’d read the first two books, Trouble Is a Friend of Mine and Trouble Makes a Comeback, back in June 2016, and I loved them. Somehow, though, I totally missed book three getting released. Obviously I forgot most everything, because that’s what I do, so I got to enjoy these anew. My terrible memory is both blessing and curse. Trouble Never Sleeps caps off the series satisfyingly and without losing any of its quirky humor.

(more…)

Her Royal Highness by Rachel Hawkins

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Her Royal Highness by Rachel HawkinsHer Royal Higness by Rachel Hawkins
Narrator: Karissa Vacker
Length: 7 hrs, 44 mins
Series: Royals #2
Published by Listening Library on May 7, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads

Millie Quint is devastated when she discovers that her sort-of-best friend/sort-of-girlfriend has been kissing someone else. And because Millie cannot stand the thought of confronting her ex every day, she decides to apply for scholarships to boarding schools . . . the farther from Houston the better.

Millie can't believe her luck when she's accepted into one of the world's most exclusive schools, located in the rolling highlands of Scotland. Everything about Scotland is different: the country is misty and green; the school is gorgeous, and the students think Americans are cute.

The only problem: Mille's roommate Flora is a total princess.

She's also an actual princess. Of Scotland.

At first, the girls can barely stand each other--Flora is both high-class and high-key--but before Millie knows it, she has another sort-of-best-friend/sort-of-girlfriend. Even though Princess Flora could be a new chapter in her love life, Millie knows the chances of happily ever afters are slim . . . after all, real life isn't a fairy tale . . . or is it?

I’d actually forgotten Royals slash mixed it up with Prince in Disguise, so I was looking forward to this but also not quite as much as if I’d remembered Royals accurately. So obviously I reread Royals, again on audio because a) it’s what I had and b) it’s fantastic. How could I forget how funny and voicey and snarky that book was? Also, freaking precious. If you loved Royals, you will enjoy the hell out of Her Royal Highness as well, because it’s got all the personality and cuteness of the first book.

(more…)

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi WaxmanThe Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman
Published by Berkley on July 9, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Humor
Pages: 333
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads

The author of Other People's Houses and The Garden of Small Beginnings delivers a quirky and charming novel chronicling the life of confirmed introvert Nina Hill as she does her best to fly under everyone's radar.

Meet Nina Hill: A young woman supremely confident in her own...shell.

The only child of a single mother, Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, a kick-butt trivia team, a world-class planner and a cat named Phil. If she sometimes suspects there might be more to life than reading, she just shrugs and picks up a new book.

When the father Nina never knew existed suddenly dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. They all live close by! They're all--or mostly all--excited to meet her! She'll have to Speak. To. Strangers. It's a disaster! And as if that wasn't enough, Tom, her trivia nemesis, has turned out to be cute, funny, and deeply interested in getting to know her. Doesn't he realize what a terrible idea that is?

Nina considers her options.
1. Completely change her name and appearance. (Too drastic, plus she likes her hair.)
2. Flee to a deserted island. (Hard pass, see: coffee).
3. Hide in a corner of her apartment and rock back and forth. (Already doing it.)

It's time for Nina to come out of her comfortable shell, but she isn't convinced real life could ever live up to fiction. It's going to take a brand-new family, a persistent suitor, and the combined effects of ice cream and trivia to make her turn her own fresh page.

God, I love this cover. These covers give me life. Like, I know I’ve talked about this ad nauseum in my I’ve Got You Covered posts, but it bears reiterating how amazing the cover art work being done at Berkley is. Also, it bears mentioning, particularly since this is a review, that it’s not just the cover art that’s good. The Bookish Life of Nina Hill‘s a very atypical sort of romance, and I’d urge you to think of it more as a contemporary novel because stylistically it really doesn’t fit the romance novel genre. BUT omg it’s so cute and funny and quirky and unique, and I loved it so much.

(more…)

By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

By Any Means Necessary by Candice MontgomeryBy Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery
Published by Page Street Kids on October 8, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads

An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.

On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.

Torrey would love nothing more than to leave behind the family and neighborhood that’s bleeding him dry. But he still feels compelled to care for the project of his uncle’s heart. As the farm heads for auction, Torrey precariously balances choosing a major and texting Gabriel—the first boy he ever kissed—with the fight to stop his uncle’s legacy from being demolished. But as notice letters pile up and lawyers appear at his dorm, dividing himself between family and future becomes impossible unless he sacrifices a part of himself.

When this book popped up on NetGalley, I stared at it and then stared some more, debating whether I should request it. On the plus side, college and m/m romance, but on the minus side bees and comps that made me think I might not be into it (I didn’t like the Nic Stone book I read, and I haven’t read Acevedo, but her books seem like distinctly not Christina books—though I hear they’re amazing). I waffled but ultimately requested, obviously, since I read this book in July 2019, and it doesn’t come out until October. That was such a good decision I made, because I absolutely loved this book from the very beginning and it made me feel all the feels.

(more…)

I’ve Got You Covered (11)

Middle Grade

1. The Fast and the Furriest (Snazzy Cat Capers #2) – Deanna Kent

Gotta love the detail of the fish having a bowl on its head so it can breathe water. Also, THE TITLE.

(more…)