By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

By Any Means Necessary by Candice MontgomeryBy Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery
Published by Page Street Kids on October 8, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads

An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.

On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.

Torrey would love nothing more than to leave behind the family and neighborhood that’s bleeding him dry. But he still feels compelled to care for the project of his uncle’s heart. As the farm heads for auction, Torrey precariously balances choosing a major and texting Gabriel—the first boy he ever kissed—with the fight to stop his uncle’s legacy from being demolished. But as notice letters pile up and lawyers appear at his dorm, dividing himself between family and future becomes impossible unless he sacrifices a part of himself.

When this book popped up on NetGalley, I stared at it and then stared some more, debating whether I should request it. On the plus side, college and m/m romance, but on the minus side bees and comps that made me think I might not be into it (I didn’t like the Nic Stone book I read, and I haven’t read Acevedo, but her books seem like distinctly not Christina books—though I hear they’re amazing). I waffled but ultimately requested, obviously, since I read this book in July 2019, and it doesn’t come out until October. That was such a good decision I made, because I absolutely loved this book from the very beginning and it made me feel all the feels.

(more…)

I’ve Got You Covered (11)

Middle Grade

1. The Fast and the Furriest (Snazzy Cat Capers #2) – Deanna Kent

Gotta love the detail of the fish having a bowl on its head so it can breathe water. Also, THE TITLE.

(more…)

Jack of Hearts (and Other Parts) by Lev A.C. Rosen

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Jack of Hearts (and Other Parts) by Lev A.C. RosenJack of Hearts (and Other Parts) on October 30, 2018
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 328
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads

My first time getting it in the butt was kind of weird. I think it's going to be weird for everyone's first time, though.

Meet Jack Rothman. He's seventeen and loves partying, makeup and boys - sometimes all at the same time. His sex life makes him the hot topic for the high school gossip machine. But who cares? Like Jack always says, 'it could be worse'.

He doesn't actually expect that to come true.

But after Jack starts writing an online sex advice column, the mysterious love letters he's been getting take a turn for the creepy. Jack's secret admirer knows everything: where he's hanging out, who he's sleeping with, who his mum is dating. They claim they love Jack, but not his unashamedly queer lifestyle. They need him to curb his sexuality, or they'll force him.

As the pressure mounts, Jack must unmask his stalker before their obsession becomes genuinely dangerous...

Hi there, I hope you’re prepared to read a glowing-ass review, because I have nothing but praise to deliver today. Years ago, I read and really enjoyed Rosen’s debut, a sci-fi/fantasy retelling of Twelfth Night, aka my favorite Shakespeare play, but he’d sort of fallen off of my radar. Clearly, a mistake, because holy forking shirt balls Jack of Hearts (and Other Parts) was everything I never knew how much I needed.

(more…)

May and June 2019: Months in Review

My goal is always to get the review post up right as the new month begins, but oops it’s midway through July already, and I kind of skipped May so ummmm. Let’s just say that I was lazy and leave it at that. There’s some big, good stuff happening in my life right now, and it’s been stressful enough that I haven’t really had much mental energy for blogging, so I kept putting this off. Still, there’s a satisfaction to keeping up with things, so here I am keeping on.

(more…)

Well Met by Jen DeLuca

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Well Met by Jen DeLucaWell Met by Jen DeLuca
Published by Berkley on September 3, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads

All's faire in love and war for two sworn enemies who indulge in a harmless flirtation in a laugh-out-loud rom-com from debut author Jen DeLuca.

Emily knew there would be strings attached when she relocated to the small town of Willow Creek, Maryland, for the summer to help her sister recover from an accident, but who could anticipate getting roped into volunteering for the local Renaissance Faire alongside her teenaged niece? Or that the irritating and inscrutable schoolteacher in charge of the volunteers would be so annoying that she finds it impossible to stop thinking about him?

The faire is Simon's family legacy and from the start he makes clear he doesn't have time for Emily's lighthearted approach to life, her oddball Shakespeare conspiracy theories, or her endless suggestions for new acts to shake things up. Yet on the faire grounds he becomes a different person, flirting freely with Emily when she's in her revealing wench's costume. But is this attraction real, or just part of the characters they're portraying?

This summer was only ever supposed to be a pit stop on the way to somewhere else for Emily, but soon she can't seem to shake the fantasy of establishing something more with Simon or a permanent home of her own in Willow Creek.

I went to ALA annual this year, and I made sure to stop by the Penguin Random House adult booth, so I could tell them how thrilled I am with what Berkley has been doing lately. I know it’s not just Berkley that’s bringing contemporary romance, particularly romantic comedies, back to popularity, but I do feel like they’re leading the charge, with the adorable covers and the widest range of titles. What’s been great so far is how good they’ve been too, though I do think Well Met just might be my favorite one so far.

(more…)