Book Talk: The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Talk: The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie AdmansThe Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans
Published by HQ Digital on March 2, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Amazon
Goodreads

‘Will you… pretend to marry me?’

Bonnie Haskett loves everything about weddings. She loves her job at a national bridal magazine and even has a deposit down on her dream dress. The only problem? She doesn’t have a fiancé!

So when Bonnie is sent to Edelweiss Island, known as ‘The Little Wedding Island’, it’s a dream come true. She’s heard the rumours, every wedding that takes place in the tiny chapel ends in a happy-ever-after.

But there’s a catch! Investigating the story, Bonnie needs to pose as a blushing bride – and the only man up for posing as her groom is her arch rival (and far too handsome for his own good) journalist Rohan Carter…

A gorgeously uplifting summer romance. Perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Caroline Roberts.

At some point in 2017, I realized that some of the UK romance novel imprints don’t say anything about only approving people in the UK, so I started requesting cute ones. I’ve read/tried a few by now, and I’ve mostly been unimpressed. The best one I’d read up to The Little Wedding Island was one I could not remember the name or author of, but, hilariously enough, I realized after I finished this book was actually also by Admans. Where that book was cute but lacking in spark and not particularly memorable, The Little Wedding Island was the adorable, bantery romantic comedy I’d wanted when I requested.

From the beginning, I absolutely loved the tropey goodness of this book. The Little Wedding Island takes as hero and heroine columnists at rival failing magazines. He’s the bitter, marriage-hating asshole who writes for a men’s magazine, and she’s the idealistic romantic who writes for a wedding magazine. They get into a dust up on Twitter, garnering both magazines more attention but in a not-so-great light.

Coincidentally, both are sent, as a punishment, to try to capture the story of the elusive wedding destination, Edelweiss Island. The rumor is that no couple ever married there has divorced, but the town shuts down on reporters, so there’s been no evidence of anything. Both their jobs hang in the balance, and the magazines they write for too. Like me, you will probably have to set aside lingering questions about why a men’s magazine that mostly has articles about avoiding matrimony would think its survival depended on an article about a wedding venue, but whatever who cares it’s cute dammit.

Just as you might expect, Rohan (who doesn’t get on a horse to my endless disappointment) and Bonnie meet on the ferry to the island and immediately click. He’s adorably sea sick, and she has to help him to the town’s one bed and breakfast. They banter back and forth, her silly and him snarky and both very entertained by the other. It’s freaking cute, and from this point on I couldn’t put the book down.

One of my favorite romance tropes is when the rest of the cast totally ships the couple, and The Little Wedding Island has this in spades. It’s sort of like Stars Hollow but if everyone was Miss Patty level nosy, and they all were big fans of love. From the start, they’re all encouraging these two to get together, and they’re so quick to jump on board when the supposed strangers suddenly announce an engagement. View Spoiler »

Obviously I also love the fake dating trope, and it’s very cutely done here. They’re super into each other anyway, but it gives them a great reason to have to kiss a lot. I really like that, even when they learn their identities, it’s basically impossible for them to really behave like nemeses. They’re both far too charmed. Rohan’s genuinely apologetic almost immediately, and he’s a classic sweetheart who’s been burned. Plus, he’s so funny, and his love of Puffin the pug is impossible to resist.

One plot point leaves me begging several questions, but it’s spoilery so feel free to skip on past this. View Spoiler »

As I’ve discussed at length, romance is, on the whole, a predictable genre. That can be in both good and bad ways. For me, The Little Wedding Island is the perfect kind of predictable. It’s cozy and adorable and shippy like a good romantic comedy. It hits exactly the beats you expect, concluding with something out of How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, and it’s like taking a warm bubbly bath.

If you want something fluffy and funny, I recommend this delicious little tidbit, especially since it’s so cheap.

Tl;dr – Review in a GIFfy:

2 responses to “Book Talk: The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans”

  1. Elsie Wagner says:

    Thank you for this honest review. By the way, I am Elsie Wagner and I am currently working at a company that offers custom writing service reviews. I really like Jaimie Admans books and I was searching for some honest reviews about her latest book, The Little Wedding Island. Because of your honest review, I will definitely read this book. I hope that you give another honest review about her other books, like The Chateau of Happily Ever Afters. Looking forward for more honest reviews like this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge