Size Doesn’t Matter (195): In Some Other Life; Kit Meets Covington

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Size Doesn’t Matter (195): In Some Other Life; Kit Meets CovingtonIn Some Other Life by Jessica Brody
Published by Farrar Straus and Giroux (BYR) on August 8, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 464
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Kennedy Rhodes turns down an acceptance to an elite private school, instead choosing to stay at her high school and jump at the opportunity to date the boy of her dreams. Three years later, Kennedy walks in on that same boyfriend cheating with her best friend—and wishes she had made a different choice. But when Kennedy hits her head and wakes up in the version of her life where she chose to attend the private school, she finds that maybe it’s not as perfect of a world as she once thought.

Previously, I’ve only tried Jessica Brody’s science fiction (Unremembered), and it…didn’t do a lot for me. Despite that, I’ve had a few of her contemporary novels on my list forever but never gotten around to them. In Some Other Life appealed to me for that most classic of reasons: the cover’s cute.  So sue me (actually, don’t, please). In Some Other Life is a fluffier readalike for Kasie West’s debut Pivot Point, and I liked it quite a bit.

Kennedy Rhodes turned down an elite private high school because her long-term crush wanted to date her; she decided to stick with public school in order to be with him. Three years after she let her shot at the private school go by, Kennedy discovers that her boyfriend is cheating on her with her best friend. Despite her other big accomplishments (great grades, editor of an award-winning school newspaper), Kennedy regrets that missed opportunity.

Conveniently, a head injury catapults her into an alternate universe where she chose her education over her love life. It’s a classic “be careful what you wish for” sort of scenario. Kennedy’s life at the private school is everything she dreamed: she’s popular, she excels at everything, and she’s a shoe-in for her dream college. However, her family’s a mess, because her dad took the soulless corporate job he’d turned down in her timeline in order to pay for her schooling. All of this turned this private school Kennedy into someone this Kennedy doesn’t like or respect.

The voice is good, and there’s a cute little ship, though it’s not the focal point of the story. Kennedy’s father and brother are also highlights of the novel. It’s interesting that choosing a boy over her education turns out to have been the right choice; some readers might not like that, but I do appreciate the fact that the novel highlights the far-reaching complexities of choices. The novel would have benefited from more development for said boyfriend, because legit all I know about him is his deep abiding love of fart jokes; considering that he’s the motivator driving much of the novel, it would have been more emotionally resonant if I got their connection. However, it’s nice that Kennedy reconnects with her friend in the end, albeit not as emotional as if she’d come to that in an organic way.

In Some Other Life was a great airplane read. For me, this basic set up only gets so good (because, while I like the formulaic nature of romance, the formulaic nature of “be careful what you wish for” I’m a bit less into), but Brody makes the somewhat stale concept fun. For all its length, it really didn’t feel all that long.

Tl;dr – Review in a GIFfy:

 

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Size Doesn’t Matter (195): In Some Other Life; Kit Meets CovingtonKit Meets Covington by Bobbi J.G. Weiss
Series: Ride #1
Published by Candlewick on September 12, 2017
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 280
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
AmazonThe Book DepositoryAudible
Goodreads
three-stars

When American teen Kit Bridges moves to England to attend an elite equestrian boarding school, neither she nor her new home will ever be quite the same.

Trying to move on from her mother's death and afraid of riding after a bad fall, plucky fourteen-year-old Kit Bridges doesn't quite know what to expect when her father takes a position at The Covington Academy, a prestigious boarding school in England. Things are looking up when Kit meets her cool, possibly secretly royal new roommate, Anya, and the boys of Covington, like Will, with their charming accents. But she hadn't anticipated such a strict headmistress as Lady Covington. Or the expectation that every student be a rider. Or the wild horse that she seems to have a strange and special bond with. While navigating new friendships, romances, and an alarmingly austere new environment, Kit needs to figure out whether she's ready to get back in the saddle. And at the end of the day, it's hard to tell who will be more changed by her arrival -- The Covington Academy or Kit herself.

Today in Christina is a ridiculous human, I couldn’t resist requesting this novelization of a TV show I haven’t watched. Listen, my childhood self over-rode my good sense, because boarding school with horses in England was absolutely everything I was into as a kid. Like, I read SO MANY Thoroughbreds books, you have no idea.

So Kit Meets Covington is a novelization, and the quality is exactly what you would expect. The writing’s not great, the story is silly, and it’s more middle grade than YA. However, I actually read a ton of novelizations when I was a kid: I owned and loved Sabrina the Teenage Witch novels (the best was Sabrina Goes to Rome) and Full House novels (the best was when Stephanie went to a dude ranch and fell in love). DO NOT JUDGE ME.

So yeah, I really liked Kit Meets Covington for what it was. I was tired and on a plane, so I read this in a literal sitting, and it was just so fluffy and easy. Kit has a little baby love triangle without even realizing it, and there are horses, and her roommate is a princess because reasons (she also has a burgeoning ship!). I probably won’t read more of the novelizations (someone stop me from using that NetGalley widget), but I had a lot of fun and have no regrets.

I’m not totally sure who to recommend this book to, other than my childhood self, who would have loved it intensely. I’d definitely give this to middle grade rather than young adult readers, because it does skew younger. And I very much need to watch this show.

Tl;dr – Review in a GIFfy:

7 responses to “Size Doesn’t Matter (195): In Some Other Life; Kit Meets Covington”

  1. Shira says:

    Oh, man. Sometimes I think we are book twins. I read so.many. Thoroughbreds books growing up. And by “so many,” I mean I owned all of them and read them over and over. I really regret getting rid of them in a fit of teenage embarrassment.

    • Christina Franke says:

      I think I aged out of them at some point, so I didn’t have the full set. Or maybe that was just when the local Walden Books closed down and my parents stopped buying them for me. :-p

      There should still be some in my parents’ library. They don’t get embarrassed haha.

      • Shira says:

        I think I continued buying them after I aged out because even then I wasn’t good at not finishing a series! Or maybe I didn’t have them all. I just checked, and the last one came out in 2005. I can’t imagine I was buying them at that age. I really want to go back and read some of them now. I’m going to have to see if my library has any!
        If you ever want to go back and read any that your parents’ still have and do a blog series about them, I am so here for that! 😉

  2. I remember checking Unremembered out of the library many moons ago and being unable to get into it, but I did enjoy Brody’s A Week of Monday’s, a predictable but fun Groundhog Day-esque book. The ending was perhaps a bit too perfect for me, but that wasn’t a huge problem.

    • Christina Franke says:

      Predictable but fun applies here too. The ending isn’t quite as neatly wrapped as it could be; Brody leaves a little bit open, but it’s definitely idealistic. Unremembered was unfortunate; contemporary is clearly her best thing.

  3. I just need a chill, laid back book after finishing these library books that are like READ ME NOW I AM OVERDUE HURRY UP LADY.

    So, I think that after my obligatory library books I am going to settle in with In Some Other Life. Your review pretty much convinces me I would like it.
    April Books & Wine recently posted…The Wood by Chelsea Bobulski | Book ReviewMy Profile

    • Christina Franke says:

      That could work for you, I think. It’s very much predictable but light and fun. I pretty much binged straight through, and it’s way quicker than it looks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge