Audiobook Review: Size 12 and Ready to Rock

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Audiobook Review: Size 12 and Ready to RockSize 12 and Ready to Rock by Meg Cabot
Narrator: Sandy Rustin
Length: 10 hrs, 4 mins
Series: Heather Wells #4
Published by Harper Audio on July 10, 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Humor, Mystery, Romance
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Summer break . . . and the livin' ain't easy!

Just because the students at New York College have flown the coop doesn't mean assistant residence hall director Heather Wells can relax. Fischer Hall is busier than ever, filled with squealing thirteen- and fourteen-year-old girls attending the first ever Tania Trace Teen Rock Camp, hosted by pop sensation Tania Trace herself—who just happens to be newly married to Heather's ex-boyfriend, heartthrob Jordan Cartwright. But the real headache begins when the producer of a reality TV show starring Tania winds up dead . . . and it's clear that the star was the intended victim.

Grant Cartwright, head of Cartwright Records, wants to keep his daughter-in-law (and his highest-earning performer) alive. So he hires his oldest son, black sheep of the family and private investigator Cooper Cartwright—who just happens to be Heather's new fiancé. Heather should leave the detecting to Cooper. But with a dorm full of hysterical mini-divas-in-training, she can't help but get involved. And after Tania shares a really shocking secret with her, this reality suddenly becomes more dangerously real than anyone ever anticipated.

When I saw Meg Cabot speak at the Decatur Book Festival last weekend, she spoke about her goals as an author. Unlike some, she doesn’t try to write in an effort to win literary acclaim; she writes to entertain. She hopes her books will bring joy and fun into the lives of children, teens and adults. Well, I, for one, think she is entirely successful in this regard and the number of books she’s sold indicates that there’s a real market for that. She does just for fun books with the best, ranking with Janet Evanovich as an author that I pretty much always enjoy even if I don’t get any deeper lessons from her books.
.
I have to admit I was a bit concerned about Size 12 and Ready to Rock. It had been so long since the last Heather Wells book, which came out when I was in college, and I didn’t remember the series feeling unfinished. When an author revives a series that was closed, it tends to be a mistake. The opening chapters of Size 12 and Ready to Rock upped my levels of concern that this would not be as good as the previous books. It starts with an overly melodramatic scene in which Heather gets shot with a paintball and thinks she’s dying. Add to this the fact that she and Cooper are hiding their engagement, making me fear that he’s going to turn out to be an awful guy all of a sudden, and some discussion of babies, and I was rolling my eyes.

Thankfully, Meg Cabot didn’t take the story down any of those entirely obnoxious plot paths I thought might be coming. I should really have more trust for Meg, given how many of her books I’ve enjoyed. Heather Wells does have a tendency to melodrama, as the first scene suggests, but that’s just who she is and it’s part of what makes her a fun main character. I had just forgotten what she was like since I hadn’t read one of these books in years. Once I settled into the rhythm, I was able to sit back and enjoy Cabot’s humor and characters.

Jordan and Tanya have a much larger role in this one. Jordan is Heather’s ex-boyfriend and Cooper’s brother, which makes the engagement awkward. Cabot pulls off the Heather having dated brothers thing well, without making it feel completely absurd. I wanted to hate both Tanya and Jordan and was ot thrilled at first that this book’s mystery centered around them, but it turned out to be totally amazing.

If you loved the first three Heather Wells books, get excited because there are even more coming after this and they are just as good. If you haven’t read them, go start, assuming you enjoy fun. The Heather Wells books are an excellent read-a-like for Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum books.

Performance:
This was my first time listening to a Heather Wells book; I read the first three. While the format change was at first a bit disarming, I ended up being pleased with my decision, though I’m sure it would have been fun to read this one as well. With the action and the humor, though, this was a good choice for the audiobook format. I listen on and off while doing chores, and I always looked forward to getting to listen to another chapter or two.

Sandy Rustin does a great job, and is one of the narrators I’ve been most impressed by so far in my audiobook experience, which, admittedly, is somewhat limited. She does a marvelous job with accents. I loved the way she read for Magda and Sarah. In fact, all of her voices were great, though I wasn’t a fan of the Cooper voice. Her voice fits well with Heather Wells’ character, sort of chirpy and optimistic.

Size 12 and Ready to Rock was a pleasure on audio, so, if you enjoy listening to books, I highly recommend this one.

6 responses to “Audiobook Review: Size 12 and Ready to Rock”

  1. M.A.D. says:

    Haven’t read any of this series, but I think I’d like to … glad you enjoyed the audio version! Great review, Christina <3

  2. I was just recently introduced to this series. I’ve only read the first two so far but I freaking love them. Heather Wells is so much fun, I want her to be my BFF. I’ll come back and read your review after I read the next two books!

  3. I haven’t read anything by Meg..*gasps* guess i need to fix that, great review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge