Review: The Glass Swallow

Review: The Glass SwallowThe Glass Swallow by Julia Golding
Series: Dragonfly & The Glass Swallow #2
Published by Skyscape on October 1, 2011
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Gifted
Goodreads
four-stars

Rain has a secret—one that risks her whole world if it comes out. She designs exquisite stained glass for the windows of her city. But the law is clear: it is forbidden for girls to be part of the glassmakers’ guild. To keep her secret hidden, Rain leaves home and travels to a strange new country. Her trip becomes a nightmare when bandits attack and she is abandoned in a society on the edge of disaster. To survive, she must discover new strengths in herself and seek out the other people that this society has scorned, including a young falconer who is one of the "untouchables."

The Glass Swallow is a companion novel to Dragonfly, which I read, and loved, a couple years ago. The main characters from Dragonfly do make a brief appearance, but are, for the most part, quite distant. Nonetheless, this was quite a satisfying companion to that fantastic book.

What makes these books, and probably the others of Julia Golding that I have yet to read, so fantastic is how strong her heroines are. Rain lacks physical strength pretty much entirely. She is diminutive, especially in this new country, and certainly would stand no chance in a fight with most anyone. However, she is still most definitely a force to be reckoned with. Her intellect, talent and stubbornness are what make her shine and make people respect her.

Also super adorable was the romance between Peri and Rain. I’ve always been a sucker for the romance plot line where the couple didn’t like each other at first. I wonder why. (cough…Pride and Prejudice…cough.) Plus, I really liked their dynamic together, the fact that being in love doesn’t mean that they don’t bicker and even have serious fights. Despite this being a fantasy, the romance seems much more realistic than those in so many young adult realistic fiction novels.

Fans of Tamora Pierce and Kristin Cashore should really consider giving Julia Golding’s novels a try. Her books are a bit less dramatic perhaps, but I think the core of them is similar.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge